I’m Engaged!

Well, my life has received a beautifully violent shove onto the path of marriage and I could not be more excited!

Tanya, my fiancée, has always loved Chicago as long as I can remember, as well as the Navy Pier! So, long story short, Tanya and I planned to go to the windy city with our very close friends, Andrew and Kristen (who were in on the secret of my imminent proposal). We explored the city a bunch and then we went up to The Signature Room on the 95th floor of the John Hancock center for a dressy, semi-formal dinner just as the sun was going down over the city. It was INCREDIBLE….also incredibly expensive. Thanks for your sacrifice, Drew and Kris 😉

After that, we taxied over to the Navy Pier. What a beautiful spot (*wink wink to all the guys)! So, the four of us walked out to the end which was blocked off by security guards and fences. My immediate thought was, “CRAP, NO! That’s right where I wanted to do it. What are we gonna do!” I think I held it together well, though. Drew got talking to a security guard who ended up letting us sneak through!! So cool! His exact words were, “You know what? There’s a broken door over there that doesn’t lock….I didn’t see you guys.” THANKS, PEREZ!

SO, we got out to the end and there was almost NOBODY there! ANDDD that’s where I did it! Right out at the end of the pier by the water and lighthouses at night. Drew and Kris trailed off and snapped some pictures and filmed a bit of it. I sang her Nat King Cole’s “L-O-V-E” and danced with her after she said yes 🙂

Believe it or not, she said yes to this messed up, crazy, hefty, road-raging 21-year old. And that started our more official history together! It’s so surreal and really cool! We already started planning, which is wild. The wedding is going to be on August 2nd, 2014, as stated in our official wedding hashtag, #TNT2014 😉

I thank God so much. God was all over that trip and the proposal. It was raining earlier that day, even as we went for dinner. God helped us out by calling off the rain. And then the thing with the security guard, Perez…just such a divine happening. We even ran into him after and thanked him, and he gave us some great marriage advice (oddly enough, coming from the place of just capping his second divorce).

God made it so that my proposal to Tanya was exactly the way I pictured it in my head. It was exactly the way I pictured it when I dedicated it to Him in prayer.

God cares about everything in our lives, no matter how little. The ramifications of that are mind-boggling and don’t make a lot of sense to me, but I’m so grateful for it. Wow.

Now for marriage….

TySharronImageImage

3 thoughts on “I’m Engaged!

Leave a comment